Dyeing My Hair..

Since December last year I had decided I wanted to bite the bullet and go blonde. I specifically wanted an ashy blonde, because I hated that red shine my hair had to it. Every time I’ve decided to dye my hair it’s always been darker brown, basically black. I feel like it’s way too harsh against my ghost like complexion so I decided to give it a go. There was still some residual dye in my hair so obviously the first time the bleach hit it it went orangey, but I’d prepared myself for that and I knew it would be a gradual process.


The first time I went to a salon and had a professional dye it, which in hindsight I wish I had just done it myself as it was a very expensive experience and I could have easily done exactly what the hairdresser did. Perhaps I had too high expectations, but I had never had my hair professionally dyed. The next three or four times, I dyed it myself using Bleach London Beach Lights balayage kit followed by their White toner. This lightened my hair very well but in the end I did have to put a box dye over the top of it just to make sure the brassiness was kept at bay.Overall it was a 3 step process every time I needed to top up my roots and it was very time consuming! I must add this was over the past 6 months, I didn’t put my hair through that much stress all at once!


At my last trip to my local hairdresser for a hair cut she recommended I used Rusk Deepshine Colouring Conditioner with a 10 vol peroxide. It would be the product that I would need to make my hair that ashy colour I’d failed to get on my own. This is a professional product so I don’t know why I was surprised there were no instructions as to how to mix and apply, but after some googling I managed to figure it out.


The colour I got was 9.11AA, which was Very Light Ash Blonde (£11.99 without a Salon Services Trade Card). My hairdresser recommended that I go for 10.11AA which was Platinum Ash Blonde, but the Salon Services that I went to didn’t have it in stock so I opted for this one. Overall I enjoyed this product, it acted as my dye and toner so there was no need for the previous 3 step process I had been using and it got my desired affect.


One thing I do wish now is that I had just waited and got the lighter colour when it came back in stock. The description ‘Very Light’ is a bit of a stretch, as all my hard work lightening my hair has been taken away from one use in this product! Nonetheless I am very happy with the way it turned out. My hair is now completely ashy (dark) blonde which is exactly what I wanted in the first place and it is so easy to use.  I’ll definitely buy this product again and will try and get the lighter 10.11AA next time to see if it will give me an even better result. For now, I’ll debate with myself if I made the right decision! 

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

One thought on “Dyeing My Hair..

Leave a Reply

