Travel Makeup Essentials

Being a student, basically all of my belongings are spread between two houses, my term time address and my home address. Obviously, the majority of my makeup is with me in Edinburgh, which means I face packing up only a select amount when I travel home. It breaks my heart to leave some of it behind because I feel so limited with what I can do with my makeup when I do travel.

It’s a double edged sword however, because it does make me go through my collection and choose what I really love, or should use more. And with today’s post I’ll be showing you what I brought with me for my brief trip home.


First of all, can we just start by saying how lovely this makeup bag is? I bought it over a year ago and I still absolutely love it, and it was only about £10. They had more in this exact pattern, and I wish I got the cross-body bag because it’s so diverse for summer and winter!

This one holds all of my makeup products.


Bare Minerals Prime Time Original. I feel like this is an okay product, nothing much to say. I don’t really see a difference using this under my makeup but I still use it up.


Loreal True Match Foundation in Rose Ivory. This foundation is my go to for days when I’m working. When I’m going out at home I’d usually take my Estée Lauder Double Wear but for down days I always use this.



Collection Perfecting Concealer in Fair. Once again a favourite. You’ve probably heard about this long before now!



NYX HD Finishing Powder. A recent discovery, but a new fave. Check out my last post ‘NYX Haul’ if you want to hear more about this!

Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow. I LOVE CHARLOTTE TILBURY. And I love this. It’s so convenient for on the go too because it has both a contour and a highlight shade in one. 10/10 would recommend.

Mac Blush in Melba. This is my most reached for blush, I wear it nearly daily. I love a peachy tint to my cheeks because I’m so used to my redness that sometimes a harsh pink can be too much! It was also my first Mac blush I ever bought.


ABH Dipbrow in Medium Brown. Another staple for my everyday makeup! You can read more about my views on this in a previous post.


Urban Decay Clear Brow Tamer. Does what it says on the tin. It has a really nice sized and shaped brush to it which makes it so easy to run through my brows. I originally wanted the taupe one to give my brows some dimension and appear more natural, but it was out of stock so I picked up the clear one instead. Since then Benefit have announced their release of their 9 new brow products so I might give the 3D Brow Tones a go!


Mac Paint Pot in Painterly. I love using this as a base for my eyeshadow because often I have creases from my foundation that can show through my base eyeshadow colour. This does the job perfectly before I apply my eyeshadow.

img_2284
Maybelline Black Matte Liner. I still haven’t found my perfect liquid liner yet, but this one seems to do the job for just now. One thing I hate about it is that it gathers in the corner of my eye, but at least it doesn’t budge all day apart from that!

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk. I love this product and I talked more about it in my recent NYX haul. I’ve been using it every day since in my waterline and will probably continue to throughout the summer!

Dior Show Mascara. I bought this solely because there was an offer at the Dior counter and if you bought 2 items they gave you a makeup bag.. A stupid reason, and I don’t use the bag but I did find a great mascara. I love it, it’s one of the best I’ve used.

And now for the eyeshadow palettes I take with me.. Firstly, the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette. I use this everyday, specifically the White Peach colour, which you can see I’ve made quite the dent in already.. That just shows how buttery the shadows are!

I also brought my Z palette filled with my Makeup Geek eyeshadows. I love this palette because it’s all colours I would actually use, and I can’t wait to fill it. My mission is to get all of the Makeup Geek eyeshadows because they are just so good. I especially love the duochrome eyeshadows. I’m planning on doing a blog post on the eyeshadows I have so far, and what ones I think are essentials.

And lastly, this Charlotte Tilbury eyeshadow quad in The Dolce Vita. I love this palette and have used it tonnes, and in fact I only really used this quad the whole time I was home so I didn’t really need the other two! It has every colour you would need to create a look and it fits neatly inside my makeup bag. I love this so much and it’s one of my fave colour combos from the selection.

The Zoeva bag holds my brushes etc which consist of Zoeva as the bag might suggest, Mac, Sigma, Morphe and Real Techniques. I also have my Beauty Blender, which has completely replaced my flat top buffer from Zoeva when it comes to applying makeup. I notice a huge difference going back to using a brush so I must say I really am team Beauty Blender! I also tried the Real Techniques one, but I really wasn’t impressed the first time round. Perhaps I’ll give it another go as a cheaper alternative. I’m also desperate to try the Spectrum brushes, so perhaps when payday rolls around I might treat myself to them (not that I need any more brushes).

Hope you enjoyed this post. See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

Leave a Reply

