Dior Summer 2016: Polka Dots Eyeshadow Review


For today’s post I want to talk about something I’ve had for about a month now, so I’ve had time to really test it out. After my day of two exams I popped into Debenhams just for a browse… and we all know how that turns out! I had seen online the new Dior Summer 2016 Milky Dots collection and had fallen in love with the palette called Bain de Mer. I loved how it was something different, and it is so perfect for the summertime so I was really excited to get my hands on it.

Now the first thing I will say about this palette is that it is extremely expensive, retailing at £43.50. It’s the most I’ve spent on an eyeshadow palette and I grudged paying that amount for just 5 eyeshadows. Anyway, I obviously did pay the price and considered it a well done for the end of exams and a stressful day.. but it still annoys me!

Now on to the review. The first time I used this I went a bit over the top and wanted to use all of the colours, so I used the blue on my lid and the coral under the eye just for a pop of colour. My instant reaction to the shadow payoff as I applied the lighter of the two blue shades to my lid was “Oh no”. The pigmentation of this one was really shocking, and even when I tried to apply it using my finger, a wet brush (both synthetic and bristle) there was no getting the colour to come out. I was really disappointed at that point, but I wasn’t going to give up on it.

Moving on I then went on to use the darker blue colour, which was so much better and I was relieved. It still wasn’t as pigmented as I wanted or expected to be, and I found it quite powdery. One of the only pluses was that it didn’t have any fallout, which is obviously a key thing for such a bright colour.


The coral colours were much better too. It seemed that the lighter the colour, the less pigmented the shadows were however the pinks were much nicer to work with. I really love the darker of the two pinks but since I got the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette my need for peaches and pinks has been satisfied, and they are pigmented and buttery. Either way both palettes are beautiful to look at.

The colour in the centre of the palette is a lovely subtle pink/gold shimmer which I love to. Because of the logo having been pressed into the palette I didn’t want to use it the first few times because then it was ruined forever, but what’s the point in buying an eyeshadow palette if you don’t use it? Other than that, I don’t have much else to say on this shade.

At this point in my review I realise that it seems pretty negative. I really want to love this palette and I think because I want to love it, I’m tricking myself into thinking it’s worth the money. I hadn’t done any research on Dior eyeshadows beforehand, which is what I would usually do, and I hadn’t had any Dior products to compare. So lets cut to the chase: is this palette really worth £43? In my opinion, not at all. The colours are lovely but apart from perhaps the brighter blue, you’d be able to find some dupes at a much cheaper cost. My reasoning is that with only 5 colours in a palette, there isn’t much room for mistake. 3/5 shadows with only an average amount of payoff doesn’t justify the pricetag for me.

I love Dior as a brand and at the same time as I bought this I got the Dior Show mascara which seriously impressed me. The brand is so luxury and it’s nice to buy luxury every so often, but it’s sad when things don’t live up to their expectations. I’ll still persist with this palette, but it’s not something I’ll be reaching for as much as I intended..

See  you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

One thought on “Dior Summer 2016: Polka Dots Eyeshadow Review

Leave a Reply

