MUA Luxe Liquid Lipsticks


With this new trend for metallic lips, and my love of the Mac Frost Lipsticks, I went on the hunt for a cheaper version. I happened to stumble across these ones from MUA, and they were £2!! yes, £2.. In the past I’ve enjoyed some of the MUA eyeshadow palettes, especially the Heaven and Earth one because for £4 the quality was surprisingly good.


I picked up two shades of these liquid lipsticks, the only two I would really consider wearing to be honest. There wasn’t a huge selection when it came to colours, the majority of them were quite dark or reddish, and I wanted something more pink/gold. Perhaps it was just the Superdrug that I visited, but I wish there was a bigger selection nonetheless! The two shades I got were called Luster (the lightest one) and Glint (the purpley one).

Here is the first one, Luster, swatched:

And the second, Glint:
As you can see, the application looks really quite messy, which I wasn’t keen on. I tried to layer Luster with a lip liner, but it still didn’t look any neater.. I think if I was to use this again, I’d probably use it as a lipstick topper just so it would be a little more subtle and not as messy.

Another thing I noticed was that it didn’t dry down or anything. I didn’t really know what to expect in terms of consistency, but I didn’t think it would be like a gel/gloss. It sits on the lips okay, but I did feel like I could feel the glitter in the formula and I think when I look at it on the lips it makes them look quite dry. At the end of the day you have to remember that it only cost £2. And for that, it worked pretty well. I don’t think I’ll get the use of the darker one at all because it was too black for me against my pale skin but the lighter one I would definitely put over a nude lip just to give it something extra.

This is how they look under Mac’s Whirl liner.


They’re worth a go if you fancy giving the metallic lip a go and hopefully this is just the start of the drugstore brands bringing out metallic lipsticks!

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

p.s. Can we all just sigh at how bad the picture quality is? I desperately need a decent camera and not just an iPhone camera..

4 thoughts on “MUA Luxe Liquid Lipsticks

  1. I tried these when they were on sale for £1, i really didn’t like them, maybe i applied it wrong but these looked horrible on my lips. They made me look ill 😦 they look fabulous on you! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

