Anastasia Beverly Hills vs Kat Von D

We’ve done battle of the Brow Pomades, now time for battle of the high end contour palettes.. This time sizing up the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit and the Kat Von D Shade and Light palette.


I’ve had my Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit for probably nearly two years, if not over two years. Mine is in the shade Light/Medium, which suits my skin tone perfectly and isn’t too harsh or stark. It costs £39, and when I first purchased this it was a big deal for me to spend that on a bit of makeup so I had high hopes that this would work. I wasn’t disappointed that’s for sure. When I think about it, makeup is an investment anyway and especially powders which can last for years, so I’ve definitely got my £39 worth out of this product.


The powders themselves are really nice to work with and so easy to blend out – I totally understand the hype that even today still surrounds this product. If someone was to ask me which contour palette that is more high end to start with, I would 100% recommend this one. One thing I was concerned about was that I wouldn’t be able to get my use out of all the colours in the palette, but I’ve found uses for them be it a back up eyebrow powder or eyeshadow transition shades. Because it is specifically tailored for light to medium skin tones, you can really get away with any, even with my pasty white skin.

But, ofcourse, one contour palette wasn’t enough for me. I had my heart set on the Kat Von D palette after I saw so many YouTubers give good reviews for it. Kat Von D is a hard brand to find in the UK which is a shame because there’s so much I want to try because it all looks so good! Luckily I got the chance to get one and ofcourse I had to compare it to the ABH one.


This one cost $46, which works out to about £35, so slightly cheaper than the ABH. I was actually surprised about as I had assumed Kat Von D would be a bit more expensive, especially because you also get a mirror in the palette, something that the ABH one doesn’t have. I was so excited to see what the hype around this was and to change up my contour a bit. There is only one universal palette for all skin tones for this, which didn’t concern me too much because I had thought the same with the ABH one. When I began using it however, I never really touched the side intended for dark skin tones because the light powder was just too orangey for me and the contour shade was obviously too dark for me!


The powders in this palette however are so nice. They are so buttery and pigmented, which means a little goes a long way. One thing I notice in this palette more so than the ABH one is that they are a lot more powdery when you swirl your brush in the pan, so you do have to tap off the excess before you apply it if you swirl too much! Because of this I would say that it is ever so slightly harder to work with than the ABH one, which is why that would be my first recommendation.

Out of the two, I have to say that I would automatically reach for the Kat Von D one over the ABH one. I don’t know if that is because I keep the KVD one on top of the ABH in my drawer or because I used the ABH one so much when it was all that I had. Even so, even though it is currently being neglected, I still love it. It’s a hard one to decide which one I prefer, because I really do like them both equally.

I’d love to hear which one you guys prefer, because I just can’t pick between the two!

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

6 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills vs Kat Von D

Leave a Reply

