Beauty Blender: Is it worth it?


The Beauty Blender is a tool that has taken the makeup world by storm since its introduction. I didn’t rush to get a Beauty Blender because I was happy with using my Zoeva buffer brush for applying my foundation, and £18 is quite steep when it comes to a sponge for it not to work out for me. At first I tried out the Real Techniques sponge, which is a different shape and texture of sponge to the Beauty Blender one. It is a lot more affordable than the Beauty Blender, but I just didn’t get along with the Real Techniques one.

This really put me off buying the Beauty Blender because I thought that it would be highly comparable to the Real Techniques one, and I didn’t purchase one until about 3 months ago when I decided just to go for it and give it a chance. I’m so glad I did though, because immediately I noticed how easy it applied my makeup, and it blended my concealer so easily, making my concealer brush redundant! I don’t know if I was just using the Real Techniques one wrong, but the Beauty Blender completely worked and I understand the hype.


Although I still think that £18 is a lot for a sponge, I can’t say I regret the purchase at all. I guess you have to consider the fact that you get the Blender Cleanser (worth £7 alone) as part of the price tag as well. May I just add – the Blender Cleanser is simply magic. Nothing cleans my Beauty Blender better than this magical round bar of soap and I’m so glad they included one because it is a gem!

I know you can get the mini Beauty Blenders but I don’t use many cream products so I don’t think I’d get the use out of those, and I’m happy with the one I have. I do think that because obviously they are sponges, they will need replacing after a few months which brings back up the price tag issue.. But I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it!

The only qualm I do have with the sponge is that because it is a tool that takes in moisture and liquid, I feel like I’m going through foundation a lot quicker, which is another expensive consequence. My day to day foundation is the Loreal True Match in Rose Ivory, which is £9.99, so buying one every so often doesn’t feel too much of an issue, it’s just a small inconvenience and that’s the price you pay for flawless foundation I guess.

Overall, I love this. I don’t know where I would be without my Beauty Blender these days. If you’re on the fence about a Beauty Blender or like me decided to test the water first with a Real Techniques sponge, just go for it!

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

2 thoughts on “Beauty Blender: Is it worth it?

Leave a Reply

