Kiko vs Mac: Lip Liners


I’m going to be honest and say that I don’t use lip liners or really wear lipstick as much as I’d like, either because I’m at work or I’m eating… = my life. When I do however, I have two brands that I reach for the most, Kiko and Mac. I’d bought Mac purely for the hype and everyone seemed to have them, so I assumed they’d be good. Kiko on the other hand I discovered on holiday and by chance swatched the lip liners.


I’ll start with Mac. I had high hopes for these, especially for their high price point for what you’re getting. My first impression was that these were kind of stiff and hard to use. Everytime I applied these to my lips, I just felt like it was dragging and I had to really warm it up to even get a colour payoff. I still think that today, and I would never really choose to reach for this over other lip liners I have, but considering I paid the money for them I intend to use them up.


Having said that, I have 5 different colours in the shades Soar, Whirl, Talking Points, Burgundy and Nightmoth, so a few of the classics. They come in a standard pencil, so nothing particularly special about them, but the colours are lovely and I do feel that when I wear a bright or dark lip I need a liner. I couldn’t ever see myself wear this alone because my lips would just fall off!

Now Kiko, which I was so excited about when I tried. I have 3 shades from them, shades number 301, 304 and 316. These are called the Creamy Colour Comfort Lip Liners, and I totally agree with that name. They are so smooth and easy to apply and it doesn’t drag on the lip but you are still able to achieve a clean line.


They are incredibly creamy and unlike the Mac ones, I feel like I could wear these alone a lot more comfortably. They are just as pigmented, so nothing to complain about there. And on top of that, these are £5.90 rather than the £13 that you pay for Mac. These ones like the Mac you have to sharpen, but somehow they look a bit more luxury. Don’t ask me how, it must just be my taste in pencils.

So to conclude this lip liner battle, I think we can safely say that Kiko won. I’d like to give a quick shoutout to Urban Decay 24/7 liners, because they are on par with Kiko but I didn’t include them in this post because I only have the one.

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

Leave a Reply

