NYX Liquid Illuminator

In today’s post I want to chat about the NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator. Ever since NYX was introduced into Boots stores in the UK I had always thought about getting one to try out as an alternative to the Becca Backlight Primer or Shimmering Skin Perfector. I have never tried the Becca ones so I can’t really compare the two, but this is a more affordable version to try before I commit to a Becca one.

This one is in the colour Sunbeam, which is the lighter pink toned champagne colour. I thought this one would suit my skintone better because I am very pale. I’ve been using this under my foundation everyday since I got this, and the one thing I noticed straight away was how it left my fingers super shimmery.


The glittery specs didn’t transfer on to my face however, which I was relieved about. I did however notice a nice glow to the skin, which you would expect with an illuminating product!

After applying my foundation and finishing my makeup, I can’t say that I really noticed a great amount of glow.. For £7, I didn’t expect to come out looking like a disco ball, but I expected a little bit more. I do use a matte finish foundation so maybe that contributed and in the future I’ll change it up a bit and see what the outcome is like.

Have you ever used this and what did you think?

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

2 thoughts on “NYX Liquid Illuminator

  1. When it comes to highlights I’m not a big fan of NYX, I have their NYX wonder stick and I mainly use the contouring side as the highlight side doesn’t shine as much or make much of a difference 😦 I Like the Make up forever pro sculpting duo. I really shine like a disco ball haha Also I’d like to let you know I nominated you for the Liebster award! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel the same, I really wanted this to work for me but I just don’t see the point in using this one because there is hardly any difference! Im really keen to try makeup forever in general, it’s just hard to get my hands on here. I do know there is one stockist so I’ll definitely look into that! oh my gosh thanks so much I appreciate it xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

