Ride or Die Makeup Tag

So I watched Jaclyn Hill’s most recent YouTube video and really liked the idea of the tag. I’ve found it difficult to find tags that would be suitable for a blog post set up, but this one seems perfect and fun to do.

Basically the aim of this tag is that if you were stuck on a desert island and could only take one piece of makeup from each category (foundation, mascara, concealer etc) what would it be?

img_4872

Lets start the logical way, the way I’d apply my makeup. For primer, I felt like it was a relatively easy decision to make. I can’t say I’ve come across any great primer, but the one I’d take with me is definitely the Body Shop’s Instablur, which I recently wrote about. I would also recommend Benefit Porefessional, but this one tops it for me.

img_2272

For foundation, I think this may be a surprise but it’s also a no brainer for me. It has to go to Loreal True Match. It’s a go-to for me and I never have any complaints about the finish of it or the staying power. It’s such a reliable everyday foundation that never lets me down. I’ve heard it’s supposed to be comparable to the Nars Sheer Glow but if you’ve read my Is it worth it? on that foundation you’ll know I didn’t get along with it!


Concealer-wise, my favourite is the Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer. I expected big things from the Too Faced one and I still love the Collection one, but the Urban Decay one just feels and looks a lot better on my skin than the both of them. It doesn’t dry too quickly which makes it easy to blend, it’s not drying under the eyes, it doesn’t crease if you set it.. What more could you wish for?

img_4057

For setting powder, I assumed that one powder would be the maximum for the whole face and under-eye area. I decided to go for the NYX Transluscent Powder. This for me is a great all round powder for setting the face, and I think I prefer it under the eye too because after using a highlighting concealer I don’t feel the need to use a highlighting powder as much.

img_4255

For contour, I’m assuming you can take a kit.. If not, I’ll take the powder out of the kit and take that. I chose the Kat Von D Shade and Light contour palette. I love this powder and although you have to use a light hand with it, it’s also very buildable.

img_2276

Blush was a kind of difficult one. I’d like to take the Becca Champagne Glow palette because I love the blush shade Amaretto, and it has highlights included. If we’re talking about a singular blush, I’d choose Mac’s Melba. I tend to use the Champagne Glow palette on an everyday basis but I have relied on my Mac blush for longer  because it’s such a versatile peachy shade.


For highlight, it’s a pretty decision for me once again, surprisingly. I’d definitely take The Balm Mary Lou-manizer just because it is the perfect highlighter and no matter what other brilliant highlighters I come across, I always end up going back to this one.

img_2283

I’m going to group eyebrow products altogether because if not, I feel this could be an extremely long post. I don’t think it will come as a surprise that the only thing I would consider as a staple eyebrow product would be the Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade. I could probably live without an eyebrow set, because the dipbrow is pretty long wearing on its own.

For eyeshadow, I would take a palette.. Which palette, is a very difficult decision for me to make. It came down to two, and two recent ones. These are the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette and the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette. Ultimately, I think I’d have to choose the latter, because the shadows are ever so slightly more buttery than the Too Faced ones. Plus I feel like for a staple brown and gold smokey eye you have everything you could need in the Modern Renaissance palette.

img_2284

Eyeliner is something I’ve had trouble with. As you will know if you’ve been following me for a while, I’m yet to find a ride or die eyeliner. If I had to choose one, and I would definitely need to have one, I would take the Maybelline Master Ink in matte black. It does gather in the inner corner of the eye but apart from that it’s a decent liner.

img_4279

For mascara, I’d have to choose another recent discovery, and that is the Loreal Miss Hippie mascara. It doesn’t transfer on my under eye or eye lid throughout the day and it does wonders for the lashes, so I don’t think you can ask for anything more.

img_4627

As far as lip products go, I would narrow it down to a lipstick. The one I would probably go for is Charlotte Tilbury’s Super Cindy Matte Revolution. It’s a nude, which I think would be the most sensible to take and it goes with everything.

And with that, I believe we’ve covered the full face of makeup. I must say I’m quite happy with my choices.. Although it’s a limited amount of products, I think with choosing palettes it gives you much more choice and versatility.

Let me know what your products would be!

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Ride or Die Makeup Tag

Leave a Reply

