Charlotte Tilbury Luxury Palettes: Is it worth it?

So I have three of the Charlotte Tilbury Luxury Palettes and I thought it was about time I did an ‘Is it worth it?’. I have to add that just because I have three doesn’t automatically mean that I think all of them are must haves.. but you’ll have to read on to find out what I think of them.

The three palettes that I have are The Dolce Vita, The Rebel and The Vintage Vamp. I’ll go in order of purchase, so lets start with The Dolce Vita, arguably the most raved about luxury palette by Charlotte Tilbury. These retail for £38 each, which is quite steep considering you only get 4 shadows, but it is Charlotte Tilbury so I guess she can get away with it!


I love the Dolce Vita because it without fail looks good every time you use it. Plus the shimmery glittery shade looks so pretty. One issue I have is that the darker golden brown falls out a lot, which is really annoying. Other than that, this palette is perfection. I’m not sure whether the transition shade is a bit too dark, but it’s not hard to make it work. Plus, it means you only have to use the four shades in the palette.


Secondly we have The Rebel. This is the green toned palette which is a bit out of my comfort zone. I fancied a change and The Rebel is one of the brighter shades you can get in the luxury palettes. With this one, I wasn’t really impressed. I was so disappointed because the shadows were really hard to blend and didn’t have much payoff. You have to work really hard to get the green shades to blend nicely and have pigment. If you do stick at it, then you do get a lovely outcome, and the green sparkly shadow in it is really lovely. I love the glittery shades in these palettes, because the glitter isn’t really chunky but it is noticeable.


My most recent purchase is The Vintage Vamp. I was apprehensive to get this one because I thought it may be too similar to The Dolce Vita, but it is more purple than brown. The quality of these shadows are the same that you find in The Dolce Vita, so there’s no complaints on that front The glitter shade in this palette doesn’t seem as glittery, or doesn’t have as chunky a glitter in it. This isn’t a complaint either, it just doesn’t sparkle as much as the glitter shades in the other two.

The staying power of these shadows are in a league of their own. They do not budge and even the glitter shadow sticks exactly where you want it. It just looks stunning all day long even without setting your makeup.

Now the question arises, are these worth it? My answer to this one is that it depends. If we’re talking about The Dolce Vita- you need it. The Rebel- get it if you don’t mind working with it a lot more than other shadows. The Vintage Vamp- get it if you’re a lover of Charlotte Tilbury. I feel like you can do without The Vintage Vamp or The Dolce Vita depending on what tone of shadows you prefer. My number one is The Dolce Vita however as it is the stand out of the bunch.

What do you think about these?

See you in the next one!

Taylor xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

