The Perfect Autumn/Winter Makeup Look

Today we have one of my new favourite makeup looks for autumn/winter. I love the vampy feel this has with the dark lips and the  burgundy eyes. Burgundy is just your staple autumnal colour, isn’t it? And even better, it compliments green eyes really nicely. I think the stand out for this look is the lips, from Kylie Cosmetics in shade ‘Love Bite’. If you follow me on Instagram you will have already seen this look, but I think it deserves a blog post because this is my favourite look to wear at the moment. Now lets talk about what I have on my face!

I always start with face products, I just can’t get used to doing my eyes first. I’m very careful when using dark shades to really tap off the excess on my brush, which I think helps a lot in reducing the fallout. Recently I haven’t reached for any other primer than the Smashbox Photo Fish original primer. I love this so much, especially because it is a silicone based primer which I prefer so much more to a cream!

img_5692

For foundation I went with my Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation because it is my favourite at the moment. With that, I used my Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer in Fair Neutral. I won’t babble on about those two, but if you want to know my thoughts, you can read my post on them here!

I set my under-eye with the Catrice Cosmetics translucent powder and the rest of my face with the Charlotte Tilbury Finishing Powder. I’m really impressed with the way this Catrice powder works considering it is a drugstore product, because it doesn’t dry my under-eye area out.

img_4255

For contour, I used my Kat Von D Shade and Light palette. After much consideration, I think this contour powder works the best for me. It’s pigmented, but it blends so well and you can make it look as subtle or as harsh as you like.

For blush, I used my beloved Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette and took a mixture of the two. I just automatically gravitate towards this combo and just apply it without thinking now. I’m not mad about it, because it means I’m getting my moneys worth out of this palette!

img_4994

Highlight is an easy one. I always always ALWAYS wear Mary Loumanizer, but I still haven’t hit pan on it and I’ve had it for so long. Maybe this is a sign I should wear even more highlight?

Brows are pretty straightforward. I use ABH Dipbrow in Medium Brown, followed by Benefit Ready Set Brow and the 3D Browtones over top. My brows are the one thing on my face I can count on not to move throughout the day, and I put that down to the Benefit products!

Now the fun bit. The eyes. For this look I used all Makeup Geek shadows, so lets get into it.


Firstly I took White Lies all over my eyelid, with Cocoa Bear in the crease lightly and then building it up. As well as in the crease, I run this under the lower lash line too. I like to add my lower lash shadow at the same time as my eyelid because I feel like you get a better grasp of what things are looking like.

As for the lid, I went all over with shade Bitten, which is the lovely purple-burgundy you see on my lid and a tad under the lower lash line. In the outer corners, I took shade Americano to deepen the edges and give it some dimension, and in the inner corner I took one of the Foiled shadows called Starry Eyed. This one is so pigmented because of the foiled formula so you don’t need a heavy hand!

To finish the eye look I added a mini wing using the Maybelline Matte Liquid Eyeliner and lashings of the Charlotte Tilbury Legendary Lashes mascara. As I mentioned before, to finish the whole look off I added the Kylie Cosmetics liquid lip in ‘Love Bite’ and I love it, it compliments the eye look perfectly and ties everything in.

I hope you enjoy this look and hopefully it will be the first of many looks to come!

Taylor xo

3 thoughts on “The Perfect Autumn/Winter Makeup Look

Leave a Reply

