The Christmas Tag

So lets just jump into Blogmas with an easy Christmas Tag to get us all in the mood. I found this one online (although I don’t have the link to the original) and thought the questions summed up the best of Christmastime. I just love Christmas so much and I’m so excited that it’s finally the best time of the year. Please feel free to do this tag, everyone is welcome!

1. What is your favorite Christmas film?

My favourite Christmas film I think would be Miracle on 34th Street. It’s also my mum’s favourite Christmas film and I guess that love has been passed down to me. There’s so many iconic scenes and lines that it will always be my number one. I also have a soft spot for Love Actually because it’s such a feel good film and I love how everyone is connected, but Miracle on 34th Street everytime.

2. Have you ever had a White Christmas?

I have had many a White Christmas. Mostly when I was younger, but around Christmastime there is always a bit of snow around.

3. Where do you usually spend your holiday?

I’ve always spent Christmas at home, or at my Nana and Papa’s or Auntie’s. I wouldn’t want to spend Christmas with anyone else or anywhere else.

4. What is your favorite Christmas song?

My favourite Christmas song is a hard one to choose, but I think I’m going to have to say Mariah Carey – All I Want for Christmas is You, because it’s just so catchy and I could listen to it all throughout the year if I could. I love all Christmas songs though, and Boney M always reminds me of my Nana. Another of my favourites is John Lennon – War is Over.. It’s just too hard to choose!

5. Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

When I was little I was always allowed to pick one present from under the tree before I went to bed to open up. Nowadays since I’m older most of the gifts I get are money or gift cards, so I tend to just leave it for Christmas Day. It’s true what they say, the magic does start to disappear the older you get!

6. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

I could probably try but I’m do lazy to do it. I don’t even know how many there are off the top of my head.. 12?

7. What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

Christmas dinner ofcourse. I also have an advent calendar that I’ve had since I was little that my mum always filled for me. I’ve not been able to enjoy it since I moved out for uni and I spend the majority of December in Edinburgh working, which makes me sad!

8. Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Fake. We’ve never had a real tree because of the mess it causes. I’m not too big a fan of the real Christmas tree smell anyway and I feel some of them can look pretty bare so I prefer a fake tree.

9. What is your all-time favorite holiday food/sweet treat?

Over time I’ve lost my sweet tooth, but I used to always love my Nana’s chocolate torte for Christmas pudding. Now I prefer the actual Christmas dinner, especially stuffing. Stuffing is just the tastiest thing ever!! Chicken liver pate also always reminds me of Christmastime, even though I eat it throughout the year. In short I just love the whole Christmas dinner.

10. Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

Hmm.. the good person in me wants to say giving gifts, but I also love receiving gifts. I love the whole buying gifts for people and wrapping it up all nice and special. I don’t really like surprises but I do love when you can tell that someone has really put the thought into a gift. Makes me feel all emotional.

11. What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

I think the best gift I’ve ever received is a hard question to answer. I’m grateful for all the gifts I’ve received through the years but the one that sticks in my mind is when my parents got me tickets to the X Factor tour. It wasn’t just the tickets that made it the best gift, but it was the effort my mum put in to telling me we were going. She’d decorated a bit of cardboard and stuck loads of pictures of the contestants with the time and date. I wish I still had the picture of it because it was so cute.

12. What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

I don’t really have the desire to go anywhere during Christmastime. I like the thought of New York at Christmastime, but I hate places that are filled with tourists and I think it would be way too cold for me!

13. Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I’d like to think I’m pretty decent at wrapping presents, and I love to put a lot of effort into it.

14. Most memorable Holiday moment?

My most memorable Christmas moment was on one Christmas Day. There was so much snow and it was definitely the whitest of Christmases. I went outside with my dad and I wasn’t too tall when I was little so I took one step and literally disappeared. It was so much fun rummaging through the snow and making snow angels before trekking round to my Nana’s for Christmas dinner.

15. What made you realize the truth about Santa?

I realised the truth when I was on holiday with my mum and dad one summer and I read Ricky Tomlinson’s autobiography. It was such a funny book and then I read the truth. It didn’t really ruin it for me, I think it’s something you gradually come to realise so it’s not earth shattering news. I still love to pretend for the children in the family though.

16. Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

I like the idea of New Years Resolutions more than I do making them. I know I’d never stick to them or I’d forget them so I just don’t tend to make them anymore.

17. What makes the holidays special for you?

I think what makes the holidays so special is the atmosphere. It’s not something you can really describe, it’s just something you feel. And that’s what makes Christmas the best time of the year.

So that’s my take on the Christmas Tag! Please feel free to do this one yourself and I’d love to read it!

Taylor xo

 

Leave a Reply

