Classic Christmas Makeup Look


So with Christmas only FIVE DAYS away, I thought it would only be appropriate to do a Christmas inspired makeup look. I didn’t want to do anything too extravagant so I came up with the classic glittery gold eye and that all important red lip. As you may expect, this look was relatively easy to create, and you can choose to add a wing if you want it to be even more dramatic!

img_6562

Firstly I took the Marc Jacobs primer. This is such a luxurious primer and I think it’s a nice touch when you’re doing someone elses makeup.

img_6563

For foundation, Chelsea brought her own because she is a lot more tanned than me! We used a mixture of the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk and the Estee Lauder Double Wear. They worked well together, but it isn’t necessary to mix the two.

For setting powder, there was never any competition. I love love LOVE the Laura Mercier Translucent powder and it has really made me want to try more from the brand. For face powder I used the Sephora mineral foundation in medium. I didn’t realise I bought the shade medium, but it is way too dark for me. I’m glad it came in handy though!

For sculpting, I used the Kat Von D Shade and Light palette, as always, with just a touch of Mac’s Melba blush. Melba is the perfect shade for any look, I don’t think you can go wrong with a neutral peach shade. For highlight, I’m sure you can guess, but I went for Mary Lou by the Balm. More so because I thought it would compliment the gold glitter eye more than my new favourite Makeup Forever one.

For eyebrows, I used my normal routine, so nothing new to update on that front. I find eyebrows quite hard to do on other people but I’m slowly and surely getting quicker at it! Dipbrow is just so easy to use because its smooth and goes on so easily.

Onto the eyes! I used my favourite eyeshadow primer, the Mac Painterly Paint Pot. I’m nearly out of mine, so I desperately need to get a new one. I’ve had my first pot for over a year I would say, so I think it’s worth the money.

As you can see, I’ve used my Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette to death and I’ve already hit pan on quite a few of the shades, but it’s such a great all rounder I just can’t put it down!

Firstly I took Tempera all over the lid, just as a base. For the transition shade, I used a mix of Raw Sienna and Burnt Orange. For the outer corner, I actually used a shade from the Kyle Cosmetics palette, but you can use either Cyprus Umber or Antique Bronze if you want it to be a little darker. For the lid itself I used Primavera, with Vermeer on the inner corner and a little under the brow bone.

Now to the fun bit – the glitter! The easiest way to incorporate glitter into any look is through glitter liners. The ones from Collection are so affordable and they give such a nice effect. I placed this one called Funk on top of Primavera, just to give it a real golden glitter.

That’s all for the eyes, I didn’t add liner but you totally can, as well as lashes.

The lip colour that Chelsea used was a Jouer liquid lip in the colour Brick. This is the perfect Christmas red, slightly on the deeper side than bright.

And that’s all for this makeup look! I hope you enjoyed and give it a go, it’s so simple to create with the glitter liner too.

Taylor xo

Leave a Reply

