Easy DIY Christmas Decorations


This is one post I have been looking forward to for quite a while. I’ve been searching for some cool and retro ideas to decorate the flat with to make it extra Christmassy this year, and this is what I’ve come up with. A lot of these are really easy but I thought I’d include them anyway.

Bauble Wreath 


The first DIY I endeavored on was this lovely wreath made of baubles. I will admit that it can work out quite expensive and reasonably difficult to source some of the things you need. You need a LOT of baubles, and in total I bought 5 packs of around 20. Sourcing a pool noodle was quite difficult in stores, although you can get them online. I recommend going down to a hardware store because you can pick up a length of pipe insulation for under £1! This DIY’s redeeming factor is that it is so simple to make, if slightly time consuming.

What you will need: 

  • Glue gun
  • Hot melt Glue Sticks
  • Pipe insulation or Pool noodle
  • A LOT of baubles of your choice!
  • Any other decorations you want.

Firstly you will need to glue the ends of the pipe insulation together. Make sure this is so secure, or you’re wreath will open up on its own too easy! I recommend  leaving this until the glue is dried completely.

Next step is to glue the baubles on wherever you want. The baubles I got were from Asda, and they have lovely subtle rose gold ones this year which I’ve never seen before. You’ll need patience for this, because it is quite challenging to get the baubles to stick where they’re supposed to go. But once you’ve got that far, that’s you done.

All that’s left is to decorate it with either tinsel, or pearly beads or fairy lights. I just went for fairy lights to keep it minimal but it’s completely up to you!

Glitter Snowflakes

This is simple and you can use things from around the house! It’s also less time consuming than the bauble wreath, but just as effective in my opinion. You have two options for these, you can make your own Christmas tree decorations or you can use them as a decoration in their own right.


What you will need: 

  • Toilet roll tubes
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Hot melt Glue Sticks
  • PVA Glue
  • Glitter of your choice


Bauble Fairy Light Curtain 

This DIY is also extremely easy to create and will literally take you 5 minutes, but it does make the room look a lot more Christmassy.

What you will need: 

  • Curtain fairy lights
  • Christmas Baubles

It is as easy as you think. Literally just attach the baubles to your fairy lights by hooking or tying them on!

I really wanted this to be a good blog post for you all and I’ve been putting it off for so long so I could find the time and money to come up with some good ideas. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to get all the ideas I had done, so I hope you’ll still enjoy these three ones and I’ll try some better ones next year!

This is technically the last day of Blogmas, so I do hope you’ve enjoyed the past 24 posts.. It’s been stressful and I’m totally out of ideas now, so back to the drawing board I go!

Taylor xo

 

2 thoughts on “Easy DIY Christmas Decorations

  1. Your idea is just super cool and i definitely going to try them next winter! happ new year taylor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

