2016 Makeup Favourites

With the end of the year, I decided that instead of doing a December favourites, I would round up my top makeup and beauty products of the year. Not all of these products will have been released in 2016, but they have still made it as a strong favourite of the year.


I have two primers to include in this post, and they are the Marc Jacobs Coconut infused primer and the Smashbox Photofinish primer. I chose these two because they do different things. The Marc Jacobs is more moisturising and I would reach for this in the winter more, whilst the Smashbox I like for filling in pores. I haven’t really reached for any other primer since I got these two, so it makes sense that these are the two that I talk about today.


For foundation, I  have to mention the Marc Jacobs Remarcable Foundation for a full coverage flawless finish. It is so expensive so I don’t want to mention it too much because you all know that I already love it. My foundation favourite forever is the Loreal True Match, and this foundation always deserves a mention because for the price it is amazing.


Concealer is a hands down winner for me. The only concealer worth mentioning for me is the Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer. This is everything you would want in a concealer, be it for highlighting or just covering up discolouration or acne. For setting concealer, despite only discovering this last month, I have to give it to the Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder. This is the only setting powder I’ve tried that doesn’t alter what I’ve done underneath, it just does what it is supposed to do.


For face setting powder, it was a harder decision. I don’t have a setting powder that I hands down love and will never stray from, but a stand out for me was the Charlotte Tilbury powder. If we’re talking about drugstore face powder, I would choose Rimmel Stay Matte everyday.


My picks for contour and blush are pretty boring because I’ve stuck to the same products most of the year, but I’ll mention them anyway (even though you probably know what I’m going to say). These are the Kat Von D Shade and Light palette and Mac’s Melba blush.


Moving on to brows, I know you already know my choices for these. Benefit’s brow release this year was great so I have to mention some of my faves, which are the 3D Browtones, Ready Set Brow and Gimme Brow. And obviously my ABH Dipbrow!


My number one palette release of this year has been the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette. This is everything you need in a palette, but with a twist, so you have the ability to create more vivid and versatile looks than just a smokey eye. My favourites in this palette are Vermeer, Realgar and Cyprus Umber, but you can see that I’ve hit pan on quite a few of these shadows so hopefully that shows how much I love it!


I don’t feel like I should include an eyeliner in this post because I’ve honestly not found one that does everything I want to this year. Hopefully 2017 will be the year! I do however have an outstanding mascara. I love love love the Charlotte Tilbury Legendary Lashes mascara, for many reasons. Firstly, it both lengthens and volumises. Secondly, it lasts considerably longer than a lot of drugstore mascaras.


My highlighter of the year is a hard one, but I want to give a shout out to the Jeffree Star Skin Frosts. I really love the consistency and the colour pay off on these, and I really want to try some more. My favourite is not a new release this year, and it has to be the Balm’s Mary Loumanizer. I just can’t seem to find another highlight that I instinctively reach for with any makeup look on any day. 10/10.

And that’s all for my favourites of the year! I hope you’ve enjoyed my blog this year and hopefully next year will be just as good.

 

 

6 thoughts on “2016 Makeup Favourites

Leave a Reply

