Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation Review

I recently bought the Laura Mercier Silk Creme Oil Free foundation. Since then, I’ve been trying it out everyday to try and figure out my final thoughts on this product. I did mention in my luxury haul but I will say again, I do think that the shade range needs to be extended because I got the lightest shade (Rose Ivory) and it is still too dark and slightly orangey on my skin tone. There are 12 shades in this foundation range, which is half of what is in her other foundation ranges, so I imagine more shades are on the way.

Firstly I have to mention about the packaging. I love Laura Mercier’s packaging because it is so simple and elegant and it lets the product do the talking. I’m also a fan of how this foundation is in a tube rather than a bottle, because I feel like you get more for your money (and at £35 a pop, I should hope so too!).

My skin is normal to oily so I gravitated towards the Oil Free foundation. You can also get the Silk Creme Moisturising version of this however, at the same price of £35, which is tailored towards those who have drier skin and it is supposed to give more of a luminous finish. I’m not scared of looking too glowy, but I think for me personally, a mattifying foundation works better.

This is marketed as a Medium to Full coverage foundation, and I would agree with that statement. I find it covers my imperfections easily and it works very well when applied with a BeautyBlender. When applying products on top, it doesn’t budge or look too cakey. One of my biggest pet peeves is when you have a foundation and it just doesn’t work well with other brands products, specifically Estee Lauder Double Wear.

As for remaining oil free throughout the day, I think that this is up there with Marc Jacobs Remarcable foundation for staying power. My base makeup looked just as good as when I applied it, apart from the areas which I normally encounter some oil like around the nose or forehead. I also have an issue with my makeup just disappearing from my chin, but I didn’t have this problem with this foundation.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this foundation to anyone. I have had a look on the Laura Mercier website and the reviews for this foundation aren’t great, with most saying there was a lack of coverage. I strongly disagree with this statement, as I feel it is more high coverage than the majority of my foundations! My biggest con with this is the shade range. If you are as pale as I am, I would perhaps hang off on buying this until they launch more shades.

Taylor xo

One thought on “Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation Review

  1. One of the girls in work raves about this foundation as she uses it everyday, I was thinking about trying it but may follow your advice and wait until they have more shades available. Great read, I think your blog is fantastic!
    – Elen x
    blackcoffeebreakfast.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

