20 Minute Makeup


I was inspired by Jamie Genevieve on YouTube with this look. I’m used to doing something really fussy with my eyeshadow, but after watching her tutorial I was inspired to recreate this for myself, using different products. This is a super simple look to create, and apart from the wing liner it can be really quick.

For base I didn’t skip any steps because I feel I have my base makeup down and I can do it in about 5 minutes. I used the Too Faced Hangover primer along with the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation and concealer. For setting powder, I ofcourse used the Laura Mercier Setting Powder. I hate how you can’t see how much is left in the container, because I really don’t want to run out of this!

img_6835

For face setting powder, I’m running low on pretty much every powder I have. I normally reach for the L’oreal True Match face powder but I really want to repurchase the Rimmel Stay Matte powder because it is so affordable and it works. For sculpting, I used my new Kevyn Aucoin sculpting powder in light which I used pretty lightly to contour and around the perimeters of my face. I also only used a flush of Mac’s Melba blush on the apples of my cheeks just to add a little bit of colour to the face.

For highlight, I used my Mary Loumanizer. I don’t think that’s a surprise and although I have plenty of others to choose from, none of them look nicer on my skin than this one does. It isn’t too pale and it isn’t too golden that it can look natural, but also if you want more of a glow you can achieve that too.

Brows I don’t even need to cover at this stage. You can check out my past makeup tutorials if you want to know what I use!

Like Jamie did in her video, I used the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette. I’m so glad they have re-released this palette as I didn’t review it last time around because it sold out so quickly. You can expect a review and an eyeshadow look using this palette soon!

For this look however, I kept it very simple and as a base I used Peaches n Cream. From there, I used both shades Puree and Summer Yum in the crease, concentrating on the outer corner rather than having a stand out crease across the eye. That’s all I did for eyeshadow, and it literally takes no longer than two minutes. I then added some winged liner and some mascara and the eyes were done!

I tried to find a lipstick that was the most similar to the one that Jamie used, and the closest I had in my collection was the Gerard Cosmetics Cher liquid lipstick. You can see for yourself, but this is the most perfect mauve plum colour. I must add, this is so comfortable to wear and it isn’t drying at all. I wore this shade all day and it had a great staying power and looked just as perfect as when I first applied it.

I would definitely recommend the Gerard Cosmetics liquid lipsticks and I would definitely consider purchasing more colours.

That’s all for this look! I hope you enjoyed my interpretation of this simple look, but all credit goes to Jamie Genevieve’s look. You can watch her video here.

Taylor xo

5 thoughts on “20 Minute Makeup

Leave a Reply

