Is it worth it? Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder

img_6778

So with my ‘Is it worth it?’ series, I tend to go for a range of products or a brand. I felt that because the price tag for this product is so high, I can justify writing a blog post about this on its own! It is ofcourse the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder. This retails for £35 and I got mine in the shade Light.

For the price, you get a really little pan size. When you compare what you get for the price on this, and compare it to what you get with say the ABH or Kat Von D contour palettes, I have to say from a price point, this is not worth it in the slightest. I will give it to them, the packaging is beautiful and very luxury. At first I was a bit confused as to how you open this, and you have to be careful when you pop it open because it can go flying! This I would say is a flaw, because the last thing you want is for it to fly out your hands and the pan to smash.

The powder itself is a tad more warm toned than what I had first expected from a sculpting powder. Perhaps this is a mistake on my half, and I should have considered the Medium sculpting powder rather than the Light one, but with my skin tone I thought I’d be safer to go with the Light shade.

img_6779

I find that a flatter brush works better when applying this to give the desired chiseled out effect. A round contour brush like the Real Techniques contour brush is a bit too stiff and it can leave your contour looking a bit muddy. You do have to use a light hand whichever brush you use because it is pigmented and can be difficult to work with.

I can’t help but compare this to the likes of Kat Von D because that contour palette is my go to. Overall, I will say that I do prefer the Kat Von D than this because you get a lot more for your money and I think the quality of the powder itself is a lot better. Blending is effortless and a swipe or two and you’re good to go. With this powder, you have to use caution and really blend it into the rest of your face. I would say this powder is most similar to the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow, but this powder is still a bit stiffer than that.

For the day to day, I think this is a bit too high maintenance. I don’t think that this is necessarily a waste of money, but I do think there are  better out there. My advice for this one – give it a swatch before you commit to buying it. If you don’t get along with the Kat Von D palette then perhaps you will like this one.

Have you tried this palette? I know it is raved about in the Beauty community but unfortunately for me it isn’t my favourite! Is there any way you recommend using this to get the best results? Let me know!

Taylor xo

4 thoughts on “Is it worth it? Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder

Leave a Reply

