Gerard Cosmetics Slay All Day

I bought the Gerard Cosmetics Slay All Day on the recommendation of Carli Bybel. I love Lavender as a scent, but I also love Peach so I was debating between the two scents. I obviously went with the Lavender one as you can tell by the colour of the bottle, and today’s post is all about my thoughts on this.

You can find these on Beauty Bay in the UK and are available in 7 scents in total. Not all of the scents are available on Beauty Bay at the one time so keep an eye out for restocks if you’re after one scent in particular. Of the scents to choose from, there is Lavender, Peach, Jasmine, Lemongrass, Cucumber, Green Tea and Grapefruit. They retail from £11 for the mini size or £14.50 for the full size. To be honest, I feel like if you want to try this, you might as well get the full size because in the mini ones you get 30ml and for £3.50 more you can get the 100ml.

When I first tested this out, the scent blew me away. I couldn’t believe how strong this smells of both Lavender and just chemicals in general. In my opinion this is a disadvantage, because I’m not a fan of things that are very heavily scented, but this is solely down to personal preference. I had never heard of any other blogger or vlogger talking about how strongly this was scented so I was surprised when I tried it out. With that, I must add that this is not kiss proof in the sense that if someone kisses your face, they will taste the lavender!

The spray top on this is pretty good for it being quite affordable. I think it is quite a difficult job to get right on a setting spray, because you don’t want to have the liquid spraying out in chunks and soaking your face without setting it. So on that, I give it a thumbs up.

As for staying power, I think it’s difficult to determine. I don’t tend to use a setting spray, and to be honest I didn’t make a conscious effort to take note if this had helped my makeup stay on any longer or not. The only indication that this was still on my face was the strong scent that I could smell every now and again.

There’s a part of me that believes that the whole trend of setting sprays is just a gimmick and you trick yourself into thinking they work, but that’s just my opinion. And to completely contradict myself, I do think the Urban Decay All Nighter is a great setting spray that I can feel the difference with. If you’re a fan of setting sprays then I say go for it, but if you’re just curious then I would probably recommend the UD All Nighter over this as it doesn’t have such an overwhelming scent. Have you tried this? Let me know your thoughts!

Taylor xo

2 thoughts on “Gerard Cosmetics Slay All Day

  1. i do use setting sprays only on special occassions when i want my makeup to really last. But most of the times i tend to avoid it mainly because a lot of setting sprays contain a lot of alcohol which is really drying for the skin.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

