My Hair… It’s Pink!

I’ve done a post a looooong time ago on the products I used to get my hair to an ashy blonde shade. Since then I’ve been a lot of different colours, from bright blonde to pink to ginger and now back to pink again. I thought I would share with you the products I use to get to this stage.

I dye my hair myself, which is never easy, especially reaching to the back of my head, but somehow I managed to do a pretty good job of it this time! (if I do say so myself). I would recommend separating the two main steps of this process up, just to give the hair some time to adjust and settle before you go HAM with the dye.

First step is to bleach the hair. I use the Bleach London Total Bleach or Beach Lights kit since I don’t like to go right to the root of my hair. This bleach works great for me and I never have any issues with it not lightening enough. Just please, if you’re doing this on your own, make sure you wear gloves! I learned the hard way that if you don’t wear gloves, you’ll bleach your hands and the inside of your fingers will sting. I will admit that the gloves they supply are not the easiest to use, but you can get a decent pair of gloves from the drugstore alongside the dye which will give you more movement.

In order to ‘ombre’ my roots, I just applied the bleach to the height I wanted it and then using my index finger and my middle finger, I massaged the bleach up to give the subtle mesh that I was after. (This can be very difficult around the back of your head, but be patient and check with a mirror!)

With any of the Bleach London products you get a Reincarnation Mask, which smells devine and will leave your hair feeling silky soft. They last a few washes too. I would also recommend the Silver Shampoo and Conditioner for the upkeep of your colour and keep the brassiness away.


After the bleaching, you want to wait a couple of days until you go in with the Lilac dye. I use the Schwarzkopf Live Lightener + Twist dye in Cool Lilac. On me, this tends to turn out more pink than Lilac, which I put down to the fact that my hair is bleached and not naturally light. I don’t mind, but I thought I would put that as a disclaimer in case you really want lavender or lilac hair.

It takes me two boxes to do my whole  head of hair, and I do have some product spare, but I’d rather have too much than too little! I find it really easy to use as you just go over the areas you have bleached. If you do go over the bleached areas, because of the lightener in here, it will turn it slightly ginger, so be careful with this part! They recommend leaving this on for 30-45 minutes, and I tend to leave it on for the 45 just to make sure it doesn’t come out patchy.

For staying power, despite this being a permanent hair dye, I don’t think it lasts too long. This is a bit inconvenient for someone who wants their hair pink for the long term, especially for the health of your hair. If anyone knows of a different hair colour brand that is more long lasting but gives the same pastel effect, do let me know in the comments! I was considering the Colour Freedom Semi Permanent range that you can get from Superdrug but I’m a tad apprehensive.

And that’s all I use to bleach, dye and help keep the colour in my hair for as long as possible. If you have any tips, feel free to let me know about those too!

Taylor xo

3 thoughts on “My Hair… It’s Pink!

  1. Regularly using purple shampoo and conditioner is a must for ashy toned hair so I’m so glad you included that in this post haha! I’m a total colour-holic and am constantly changing my hair colour and you’re convincing me to go pink now! Amazing post lovely, I love reading your posts.
    – Elen x
    blackcoffeebreakfast.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

