January 2017 Favourites

I can’t believe that January is over already! It feels like yesterday that it was Christmas Day and the holiday season. I do have some good favourites for this month though and I feel I’ve expanded my makeup collection probably a bit tooooo much but at least I have some good things to talk about!


Makeup 


I discovered a lot of new makeup bits this month and I think I have some firm favourites. First I have to mention this Charlotte Tilbury Kim K.W. lipstick. Although this has been featured on a lot of peoples favourites over the past few months, I have only really discovered it this last month. Normally I can’t find a lipstick that is flattering, opaque and most importantly light enough. This one is all of those things, but with a sheen. It reminds me of the now discontinued YSL Rouge Volupte lipsticks, in shade 1. I love that lipstick and I was heartbroken to hear they had been replaced by the Rouge Volupte Shine’s.


My Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation is another one of my faves. I love everything about this foundation and as I said in my review the only thing I don’t like is that this is the lightest shade. I have only been using this a month and I feel like I have already used quite a lot of the foundation in here, so I think I’ll be buying another one of these soon.


My next makeup favourite is the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone. If you don’t have this – don’t fret, the Balm’s Mary Loumanizer is basically the same, and half the price. It is finely milled so it can be quite powdery, but it doesn’t take away from how pretty the colour is.

I have to give a mention to my Soft Ochre Paint Pot. I love the Paint Pots as a base in general, but I’d always been loyal to my Painterly Paint Pot. Soft Ochre is more yellow toned but also lighter than Painterly so I think this is my new preference.

This is a surprise favourite for me because at the time of buying it I wasn’t 100% sold on it. This is the Marc Jacobs Glow Stick, and I love to apply this under foundation and over my primer. It gives a subtle glow that shows through your foundation so I definitely think this is worth it.

My Johnson’s Face wipes are a dream. I love these so much and I’ve mentioned these in a favourites before but I don’t use any other wipes. They’re always on offer somewhere so keep an eye out.

Fashion 


These are a new purchase but I’m in love with them already. I’ve been on the search for a pair of pinstripe trousers and I found some in Topshop but the material didn’t feel as nice as I’d wanted. Then, I found these ones in H&M for £19.99, and the material is so soft.

I also have to mention my Uni of Edinburgh hoodie. It’s so cosy, especially in the winter months when the flat has been super chilly!

And that’s all my favourites for this month. I tried to come up with some random favourites but I failed this month! I’ve come up with nothing new for music or food unfortunately.

What have your favourites been this month?

Taylor xo

Leave a Reply

