Valentines Cupcakes

So me and my flatmate found this idea on social media for these Valentines inspired cupcakes. I used my own recipe to make these and they are a strawberry flavoured sponge with some simple pink icing. These despite appearing pretty simple, were incredibly difficult to make and there are quite a few tricky things to do to achieve the perfect outcome!

When I was shopping for ingredients I happened to stumble across these cute little cupcake cases and flags to decorate with. I was intending to use plain cupcake cases but as soon as I saw these I thought they would be perfect! This little set was only £1 from Asda and it’s perfect for this recipe because it makes exactly 12.

Now onto the recipe I used. For these cupcakes you will need:

  •  175g butter 
  • 175g caster sugar 
  • 175g self raising flour 
  • 3 eggs 
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder 
  • 1 tsp strawberry flavouring

This recipe is simple, it’s just a chuck all of it in the bowl and mix! 

After you’ve popped the mixture into the cases, you want to take a bit of foil and make it into a triangle for which you will pop it in between the case and the cupcake tray in the indent. This is supposed to help make them into a heart shaped cupcake, but in order for this to be successful I would use quite a bit of foil! Some of mine turned out okay, but some were complete fails. This isn’t a necessary step but it does add something.

For decoration, I just made some plain water icing and popped in some red food colouring. If you wanted you could probably use some strawberry flavouring in there too, but I thought it might be overkill. I again tried to make this into the shape of a heart, which is very hard because the water icing is either too thin or too thick! Best just to ice the whole cake and do your heart design with the strawberry laces.

Top tip when you’re applying your strawberry laces – use scissors! At first i tried to make the heart shape freehand, but when I cut it into smaller pieces it looked so much more like a heart.

And this is the finished result! If you have more patience than me you’ll probably come up with something that looks a bit more aesthetically pleasing, but they really do taste and smell amazing.

Let me know if you try this out!

Taylor xo

2 thoughts on “Valentines Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

