Makeup Tutorial: Deep Purple Halo Eye


For today’s post I have yet another makeup tutorial. This is such a pretty, sultry halo eye look which would be perfect for a night out (or during the day if you’re me and don’t go out a lot). I wasn’t sure whether to post this look or not because I used quite a few products that were limited edition, but you can easily substitute them for similar shades that you own.

As always, I will start with what I have on my face:-

  • Marc Jacobs Coconut Primer
  • Marc Jacobs Glow Stick in 01
  • Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation
  • NYX HD Concealer in Porcelain
  • RCMA No Colour Powder
  • Rimmell Stay Matte Powder
  • Kat Von D Shade and Light Palette
  • Mac Desert Rose Blush
  • Becca Moonstone Shimmering Skin Perfector
  • ABH Dipbrow in Medium Brown
  • Benefit Ready, Set, Brow!
  • Benefit 3D Browtones

For the eyes, I used two palettes. Firstly, I used the Kylie Cosmetics Holiday Palette, and then I used a few shades from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Self Made Palette. I haven’t reached for the Self Made palette in so long, but it is always a favourite as there are some beautiful shimmery shades.


After applying my Mac Soft Ochre Paint Pot, I set it with the lightest shade from the Kylie Holiday Palette, called Sugar Cookie. In the crease I then took Chestnut, which is the perfect cool-toned brown shade for popping in the crease to blend out the darker shades that we will use.


In the outer corner and the inner corner, I took the deep purple shade called Silent Night. This will probably give you a bit of fall out, so be warned! It’s not so much that a swipe with a powder brush can’t fix. I hate doing my eye makeup first so I just deal with the fallout! Make sure to go back and forth between Silent Night and Chestnut in the crease to make sure that this is blended perfectly.

In the centre of the ‘halo’ I took Pink Champagne from the Self Made Palette this time, and applied it using my finger. To diffuse the edges of this, I went back in lightly with the brush I used Silent Night on, with no extra product. This still wasn’t bright enough for me so I took the Stila Magnificent Metals Liquid Eye Shadow in the shade Diamond Dust and just patted it on with my ring finger so you could still see the Pink Champagne colour underneath.

Around the inner corner and under the brow bone I took the shade Treasure, again from the Self Made palette to highlight. I think with a look this dark it’s important to highlight!

For lashes I used the Ardell Curve lashes, which I bought from a discount beauty store last summer and they’re still going strong. They aren’t my favourite style of eyelashes because they are pretty long and wispy, I prefer a voluminous lash which is wispy like my faves, the Kiss Daisy lash. I like the way these one looks with this eye look though.

For lipstick, I popped on the Charlotte Tilbury Valentine lipstick. I was going to pair this with a dark lip as well, but I think the light nude really makes this eye look the focus of the face.

What do you think about this look?

Taylor xo

Leave a Reply

