Inverted Smokey Eye Tutorial

For this tutorial I thought I would switch things up a bit. I’m not sure how much I like the colours I used for this one, as I’m not really a fan of dark blue eyeshadow on me, I think it’s just too dark for my complexion to look nice. I do however really like the idea of inverting the shadows, and having a dark inner corner and a lighter outer corner. I kept this look pretty simple, only using the Kylie Holiday Palette.

As always, here is whats on my face:

  • Stila One Step Perfect Correcter
  • Maybelline Fit Me Matte Foundation
  • Collection Concealer in Fair
  • Laura Mercier Translucent Powder
  • Rimmel Stay Matte Powder
  • Revolution Contour Palette
  • Kiko Less is Better Cream Blush
  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone
  • ABH Dipbrow in Medium Brown
  • Benefit Ready, Set, Brow
  • Benefit 3D Browtones

img_8092

I primed my eyes using the Mac Paint Pot in Soft Ochre, and set it with the neutral shade in the Kylie Holiday Palette, called Sugar Cookie. Originally I wanted to do a silver smoky eye, but I had already done my base and I was too scared to go in with a black or grey, so I decided on this look! Firstly, I took Chestnut in the crease, concentrating on the inner corner so it would be easier to blend the darker shades out.

I then with my finger, packed on the shade Frosty, which is the silver in the palette. I popped this all over my lid, and it worked a dream. I’ve been really in to cool toned eye looks at the moment, which isn’t usually like me at all!

Normally, I don’t have any issue with the pigmentation on the Kylie palettes. On this occasion however, it was really difficult for me to get the blue onto the brush. I tried both a synthetic and a natural haired brush, but it didn’t work until I wet my brush. On a small pencil brush, I took Winter and packed it on the inner corner, blending with Chestnut all the time. It was quite difficult to blend when wet, so I would perhaps use a different shade to me for this kind of look.

So it wasn’t a stark difference, I then took the shade Evergreen and blended those between Winter and Frosty. It doesn’t really pick up on the photos, which is a shame, because it is a really nice colour!

I wasn’t sure what to do on the bottom lash line but I knew I didn’t want it to be to severe. In the end I took Chestnut and the remainer of Evergreen and just gently run it under the lash line. I then lined my lash line with Nyx’s liner Platinum for a bit of extra silver sparkle. Using the Maybelline Matte Liner, I lined my lids, opting for no wing this time, and coated my lashes with Kiko’s Extra Sculpt mascara. This look would probably look a bit more impressive with some lashes, but for day to day this will do!

After setting my face with some Gerard Cosmetics Slay All Day in Lavender, that was the look complete.

Taylor xo

 

Leave a Reply

