April 2017 Favourites

I’m excited for this months favourites because it means we’re one month closer to finishing uni for the year and it’s closer to the summer! I can’t wait to relax and enjoy the summer in Edinburgh, one of the prettiest cities I’ve ever come across. I’ve been working non-stop this month so I’ve not been too adventurous on the makeup front, but I still have some solid favourites and new discoveries.

Makeup 


For makeup, I love love love the Maybelline Fit Me Matte Foundation. I’ve been reaching for it over my L’oreal True Match, which just shows how much I’ve fallen in love with it. I love finding a cheaper alternative for a foundation, because I feel like I waste my good foundations on everyday wear. This is only £5.99 so I don’t feel as bad when I pile the stuff on my face. Plus, it’s perfect for wearing to work.


Another makeup fave has been the Kiko Extra Sculpt Mascara. This has been the mascara I’ve been reaching for over any of the other ones I have in my collection and I just really like the way it makes my lashes look. I will say the brush shape makes it a tad difficult to do the lower lashes, but with some persistence you can get there.


I have been loving this limited edition Burberry highlighter again, and although you can’t get it anymore I thought I would include it because there are so many white highlighters out at the moment. I’ve been using it more to highlight my inner corner and the brow bone, and it does a wonderful job of brightening up the eye. I love that I’m getting the use out of it, because it was an incredibly expensive highlighter, and the packaging and embossing is to die for!


Lastly for makeup I have been obsessed with the Marc Jacobs Highliner eyeliner in Fine Wine. I love this eyeliner, and I don’t really fall in love with a creamy eyeliner that often. This one is super soft and easy to apply, and I fully intend on purchasing more colours, particularly the sky blue one and the grey one! They really add something to a boring eye look.

Fashion 


Without a doubt, my favourite fashion find of the month is this silver Topshop longline blazer. I think this will be my favourite for a while yet, because it’s so so so pretty! I have to be careful with what I wear with it as far as jewellery and bags, because it can snag pretty easy with the type of material it is. I’m trying to keep it in pristine condition since it was expensive and it’s my love of the month.


I have to also mention my River Island bag, because I use it non stop. It’s just the perfect size for me and I never fill it, which is great. I found it fab for when I went to Dublin, because I could fit my Instax camera in it and I didn’t need to take a bigger bag. I would have liked it to have little metal studs on the bottom to save the leather from getting scratched when I pop the bag down, but that’s just a minor issue.

Another favourite is the Zara jumper I got at the beginning of the month. I wish I could wear it all the time but I’m too clumsy and I get it dirty too easily. I just love the colour pink at the moment, which is strange for me because I don’t consider myself a very girly girl, but I just love the pink furry patches on the sleeves!

Random 


I want to include this Essie Nail Polish because it’s what I’ve been wearing on my toes since the nicer weather has come around (not that I’ve even had my toes on show). This one is Bahama Mama, and I think it compliments my skin tone really nicely and is a great transition shade into the spring and summer months. If my nail polish would stay on for work, I would be wearing this on my fingers too, but my nails always break so there’s really no point 😦

My next random favourite is going drives at night. Because the lighter nights are here, it’s been so lovely to go out at night and explore Edinburgh and the surrounding areas. There have been so many Instagrammable photo opportunities, gettin’ all dem sunsets in. Long may it continue!

One of my TV faves has been Hell’s Kitchen. I’m currently watching season 13 on Netflix and it’s the last one, so I dunno what I’m gonna watch once I’m done! I’m also loving that the UK Netflix is uploading a new episode of Ru Paul’s Drag Race every week, because I feel like I’m not missing out, but I do miss binge watching the whole season at once!

That’s all for my favourites this month. Overall it’s been a pretty good month, and I can’t wait until exam season is over so I can finally relax. What have some of your favourites been this month? Let me know in the comments!

Taylor xo

 

Leave a Reply

