Best Of The Drugstore

Would it really be a drugstore week if I didn’t write a best of the drugstore post? I think not! For today’s post I’m going to run through my favourite drugstore products (and some affordable brands as well). I will admit that I am a bit of a makeup snob, but I can appreciate makeup from the drugstore because I feel like over the years, more affordable companies have really put the effort in to improve their formulas and make some great products, which is great for those of us who are on a budget!

img_4872-1

I’ll start with how I would apply the products to my face. For primer, I find it difficult to find a moisturising primer from the drugstore. I do however have a favourite pore filling primer which is actually from the Body Shop. I’m onto my second tube of this, the InstaBlur, and I love the look it gives my skin. It does what it says on the tin, totally blurring any imperfections and filling my pores.

As for foundation, I’m sure you can guess what my drugstore faves are. Ofcourse, they are the L’Oreal True Match Foundation and the Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless. These foundations are not only affordable, but give you great coverage and I find they last longer than some high end foundations. One big thing for me is that I get foundation gathering around my nose, which is where I get the oiliest. With these I don’t find it to be so obvious, which is always a plus in my books.

img_2278

For concealer, I think we can all agree that you can’t beat the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer. This will forever be a favourite and no matter what concealer I try and love, I know I will always go back to this one because it never disappoints.

Another obvious choice may be for powder, that being the Rimmel Stay Matte powder. I have used this powder since I began using makeup, but even now it is a firm favourite. I don’t believe in spending a lot of money on setting powder because I feel as though it’s one of those products you find yourself going through so quickly. I always hit pan on pressed powders more than any other makeup product so I’m glad that there’s a drugstore option that is really good.

img_5453

For contour, I love the Revolution Ultra Contour Kit. You get 8 shades in here for £8, and it includes setting powders, highlights, contours and bronzers. This is definitely worth the money even if you only reach for the one shade like I do the majority of the time. I probably use this one more than I use my Kat Von D Shade and Light palette, which speaks volumes!

For blush, I don’t own any at the moment, but I was always a fan of the Natural Collection blushes. These are a bargain at only £1.99, and although you don’t get a great deal of pigment, it’s just the right amount you want for a blush. My favourite shade was always Peach Melba, which is really similar to Mac’s Melba blush, which I use today.

As for eyes, I have to mention the Rimmel Scandaleyes eyeliner. These eyeliners are super creamy which I find pretty difficult for a drugstore eyeliner, unless it’s a Kohl liner (which tends to get everywhere). My favourite is the nude colour for popping in the waterline.

For mascara, I have a few faves. As I said in one of my previous blog posts, I’m a big fan of L’Oreal mascaras, particularly the Miss Manga one. I also recently reviewed the Maybelline Push Up Angel mascara which I really like too. My favourite mascara however, is from Kiko, called the Extra Sculpt mascara. It can be difficult to find Kiko, but I would consider it an affordable brand so I thought I would include it anyway!

Kiko are also great at lip liners too, and I would say I prefer them to Mac or such like. They are super creamy and don’t require any help to ‘get going’ and get the pigment if you know what I mean.

For lips in general I’m not really that fussy. For lipstick, I don’t think any brand can really get it too dramatically wrong. I’ve always been a fan of the Rimmel lipsticks however, and have quite the collection. I have an old shade from them called Electric Plum, which is in the old packaging too, and I’ll never throw it away because I don’t know if they still make it or not!

And that’s my favourite drugstore products. I hope you enjoyed reading this, and if there’s anything you think I should try then please leave a comment and I’ll definitely get round to it!

Taylor xo

3 thoughts on “Best Of The Drugstore

Leave a Reply

