Maybelline Strobing Liquid: Does It Work?

I recently picked up the new Maybelline Strobing Liquid on a whim, having done no previous research into it or without hearing anything from the beauty community. I got the lightest shade, which is called Light – Iridescent. This shade has a pearly pink sheen to it, but if that’s not the kind of glow you’re into, they also have the shade Medium which is a lot more bronzey. I’m always skeptical when it comes to liquid highlights because of their effectiveness, and when in my makeup routine to use it. For the Marc Jacobs Dew Drops, I mix them in with my foundation, but this is a lot more of a opalescent glow so I wasn’t sure how to approach this one.

I bought this from Superdrug and it cost £7.99, which I don’t think is too expensive because you get a lot of product, (25ml to be precise) which is nearly as much product as you would get with a foundation. On the website it says that with this product you can mix it in with your foundation, or alternatively use it as you would a powder or cream highlighter.

I’ve used this both ways. I do prefer to mix it in with my foundation because the couple of times I did pat it on over my foundation and powder, I felt like it was a tad difficult to blend. Personally, I prefer a champagne frosty gold highlight and this is a lot more pink than anything else, but when you mix it into your foundation I feel it gives more of an illuminating finish rather than an outright pink glow.

Like with the Marc Jacobs Dew Drops, I don’t notice too much difference to my foundation. When I add illuminating products I tend to avoid powdering too much so that the glow can come through more and I’m not just adding product where I don’t need it. All in all, even when I don’t powder the entirety of my face, I don’t notice too much of a dramatic difference for me to tell you that this is a product you NEED to go out and get now. I do like this product, but liquid highlighters in general just confuse me because they don’t add as much as I would like to the skin.

I would rather reach for the Dew Drops over this one, but that’s more down to preference of colour. I don’t think you need to spend a lot of money on liquid illuminators because they generally all do the same job. What are your thoughts on this? Are you a fan? Let me know in the comments!

Taylor xo

One thought on “Maybelline Strobing Liquid: Does It Work?

Leave a Reply

