Worth the Hype? Maybelline Eraser Eye


So I know I’m way way waaaay late to the show, but I finally got my hands on the Maybelline Eraser Eye. The main reason I’ve never picked this product up before is because of the colour selection. The shade ‘Light’ is still pretty dark for my skin tone, which is disappointing for me because I find it to be the same with the Maybelline Fit Me concealer. Come on Maybelline and make some more shade variations!

The shade I ended up picking up was the shade ‘Brightener’, which I assume is not necessarily a concealer, but more tailored towards brightening. They also have the shade ‘Neutraliser’, which I assume with the name, neutralises the colour on the skin. This Brightener is really on the pink side, and because of that it looks a lot lighter and ideal for my skin colour. I could probably get away with using this solely as a concealer, but because of how pink it is it does look better to put a more neutral shade over the top.

First impressions were that I was not a fan of the sponge applicator. It was pretty ‘hairy’ for lack of a better word and I feel like after multiple uses it could end up feeling like it really needs a clean. I wouldn’t say I’m a clean freak, but it does kind of make me feel a bit strange knowing that there’s probably going to be a lot of bacteria on the applicator.

As for coverage, I was really impressed! It did take quite a few turns for the concealer to reach the applicator, but on the first use I wasn’t phased by that as it is to be expected with a new product. The coverage was really there but it didn’t feel thick, which I appreciate.

I didn’t notice much creasing underneath the eye and I did notice that it did a good job of brightening, whether using this on its own or paired with another concealer. Because it isn’t a thick formula, but it is opaque, you have the flexibility to decide whether you want to pair this with another concealer or leave it as is.

Overall, I give this concealer a big thumbs up. For the price ( I got this from Boots for £7.99) I think this is great and would certainly recommend it. I just wish they did more variety shade wise!

Taylor xo

One thought on “Worth the Hype? Maybelline Eraser Eye

Leave a Reply

