12 of the Best Summer Lip Colours

I did a post similar to this for Autumn/Winter lip shades, so it’s time to bring out all the brights with Summer lip shades! Summer calls for more daring and exciting lip colours, and I’ve dug through my lip collection and collated my favourite high end and low end lipsticks that I think are perfect for the summer.

Mac Tropic Tonic 


I don’t tend to reach for Mac lipsticks as much anymore, but this is and always will be a firm fave. It can be a tad streaky so I would recommend using a lip liner with this, but the colour is amazing. It comes off almost a neon coral, which just screams summer. I would say that this is quite similar to Charlotte Tilbury’s Miranda May, so if you’re thinking about these, I would probably just choose one over the other.

Charlotte Tilbury Miranda May

img_8823

Kylie Cosmetics Kristen Lip Kit

I love love love Kylie’s Kristen matte liquid lip. It’s a difficult one to describe, but the best I could describe is that it is the perfect raspberry shade. It is much more of a yellow toned pink, so not my typical bright pink that I gravitate towards.

Topshop All About Me 

This lipstick is a well loved one which I have had for years. In contrast to Kristen matte liquid lip, this is definitely a cool toned pink lipstick, and is super bright. Because its a bullet lipstick and not a liquid lipstick, it’s super comfortable to wear. The only thing I will add with this one is that it can begin to gather if you wear it all day.

Revlon Wild Orchid

Wild Orchid is such a beautiful lip shade. I know I have quite a few bright pinks, but I just couldn’t pick between them all so I just had to include them! This is slightly similar to All About Me, but this lipstick has such a beautiful blue iridescence to it. Especially from Revlon, it’s great and totally worth the money.

Mac Tailored to Tease Liquid Lipcolour

This shade is basically the Topshop lipstick All About Me in liquid lipstick form. The Mac liquid lipsticks aren’t my favourite formula of liquid lipstick, but they are opaque and they do last, they just tend to be very drying. In the summer I would be more inclined to wear a gloss or balm over the top of a liquid lipstick anyway, so it doesn’t really matter for me!

Colourpop Dopey Ultra Satin Lip 

I got this little sample when I received my massive Colourpop order, and this was definitely my favourite shade of all the ones I got to sample. The Ultra Satin Lip is so comfortable to wear, whilst lasting for ages! I would highly recommend this formula, and this colour is the perfect mauve nude for the summer because it is super vibrant.

Kylie Cosmetics Koko K

Koko K is hands down my favourite Kylie lip colour. It is a light pink nude, and it is just so perfect for my skin tone. It is my go-to nude not just for summer, which is a bit of a cheat to include, but I love it so much I just couldn’t!

Jeffree Star Mannequin 

This is another nude shade, but I thought I would include it because it is super comfortable to wear. Everybody loves a liquid lipstick that feels good to wear, and this is definitely one of them. I love Jeffree Star’s formula, and this one doesn’t disappoint. The colour isn’t too bad either.

Mac Fabby

I love this lipstick because it has a shimmer to it. The look of glossy lips in the summer is a fave, I just don’t tend to wear them because of the whole hair-in-your-mouth situation. This by no means is a gloss, but because it has that golden shimmer it almost looks like it could be.

Kylie Cosmetics 22 

22 is a terracotta orange shade. I don’t often reach for this shade because it does make your teeth look ever so slightly yellow, but if you want a true orange-red shade, then this is the one for you. It isn’t as bright as some of the others, but still pretty nonetheless.

Rimmel Mauve-ment

This Rimmel lipstick is super creamy and so easy to chuck on in the summer months. It is really balmy in texture so you can wear it all day long and not feel like you’re wearing anything. Although it doesn’t give too much colour, it still gives you that flush that you’re looking for and is really natural for the warm weather, because sometimes you just don’t want an in your face lip colour!

And that’s all of my go-to summer lip shades! I hope this might have given you some inspiration for your future lipstick choices..

Taylor xo

Leave a Reply

