Pop Of Blue Tutorial

Today’s post is all about this look you see here, a basic matte smokey eye on the top, and a pop of blue on the lower lash line. I love the way this turned out, and so did all you on Instagram because it’s one of my most popular posts of all time! With that in mind, I thought I would do a tutorial, even though it’s super easy to do.

On the face:

  • Kat Von D Lock It Primer
  • Maybelline Fit Me Foundation in shade 100
  • Collection Concealer in Fair
  • RCMA No Colour Powder
  • Kat Von D Shade and Light Palette
  • Marc Jacobs Tantastic Bronzer
  • The Balm Mary Loumanizer
  • Mac Melba Blush
  • ABH Dipbrow in Medium Brown
  • Benefit Ready, Set, Brow!
  • Benefit 3D Browtones

On the eyes, I used two palettes. Those were the Too Faced X Nikkie Tutorials collab palette and the Kat Von D Pastel Goth palette, which have the best  bright colours. I never really reach for the Too Faced palette, but recently I’ve made a conscious attempt to use the makeup I don’t use often, and if I still don’t use it, then I would give it away. The problem I’ve had with this palette is mostly the bad rep it got when it first came out, even though I thought it was a pretty decent palette. The shadows for me work and blend beautifully.

img_5220

The first shade I took was Ivy, which is the white in the top left. This I used to set my eye primer. I then went in with the shade Painkiller as a transition shade, which worked great for my skin tone as it is lighter than some of the other crease shades I would normally use. It is very cool toned, which works for this look, but overall I do prefer a warm toned crease shade.

In the outer v I took the colour Makeup & Chill. I hate the name, but I love the colour. I brought this a little further onto the lid just so there was a little more colour and because I knew I wanted a deeper outer v than what this shade alone was giving me. Normally I wouldn’t dare use a black shadow because I think it can look too harsh too quickly, but I’ve grew myself a set of balls and just gone for it lately. Wanted is also not completely opaque black off the bat, so it’s easy to build up to the look you’re after. For the lid, that’s all I used!

img_7244

The under-eye is where it gets exciting though. I brought out my beloved Kat Von D Pastel Goth palette and began using the shade Meow as a transition shade. I wanted this to blend out nicely so I though rather than relying on just the blue in the palette, I would make use of some of the purples too. Then I went in with the shade Dope, which is the darker purple and popped that on top of the Meow shade but closer to the lash line. Finally, I packed on Doom so it was the most vibrant closest to my lash line. To finish the lower eye off, I took Colourpop’s Prance eyeliner and applied that in the lash line, which really gave a lovely ombre look to the lower eye.

To finish, I added winged liner, mascara and lashes. The lashes you see here have been a fave recently because they are a bit more spiky than others I own. The only problem is.. I don’t know what ones they are because I didn’t keep the original box! I’m pretty certain they are Eyelure ones though.

On my lips you see Kylie Cosmetics Koko K, which is a liquid lipstick I lost for months and thought I would never see again, so I’m happy it’s back in my life. I hope you love this look!

Taylor xo

One thought on “Pop Of Blue Tutorial

Leave a Reply

