L’Oreal Colorista Wash Out Turqoise – Does it really work?


Once again, Taylor couldn’t stick with a hair colour longer than a month. Because I have bleach in my hair from the pink and the blue and the blonde, dark hair colours don’t stick around in my hair very long, so I decided to have some fun with it. I really want to get my hair back pink, but at this moment in time, I don’t think my hair would lighten enough for it to look half decent, so for the moment I’m happy playing about with some other colours.


My hair colour before I dyed it was a dark brown because I’d only recently dyed it dark again. I was skeptical whether this would show up, but it insisted on the box that it would show up even on dark brunette hair so I thought I would at least give it a chance. As I mentioned, I had a wee bit more hope because I knew that there was still bleach in my hair and perhaps the colour would latch on to those parts.

The Wash Out colours retail for £6.99, which is really reasonable for a hair dye and especially good for a bright colour like this one. This is a semi permanent hair colour which says it will last for between 7-15 washes, which for me means it could last a month as I try and leave my hair so as not to overload it with product. Plus, less washing means the colour stays vibrant longer. The one thing I love about these L’Oreal Colorista wash in dyes is that they do little damage to your hair because it has a conditioning base to it which makes the hair feel a lot healthier than using a traditional dye.


The process to applying this is super easy too – it comes ready for you to apply and with gloves (2 pairs, which is useful because depending on how much you use, you can always reapply). When it comes to colouring my hair at home I prefer to get a helping hand, but with this, there’s really no need and you can totally do it yourself. I don’t know what it is, but it’s so easy to blend into your existing hair colour and doesn’t look harsh at all.

For more vibrancy, I left mine on for the full 30 minutes to ensure every strand was covered. I washed it out, and it recommends that you don’t use shampoo or conditioner as you should apply this on relatively clean hair, and the product itself is conditioner based anyway so there isn’t any need for a conditioner. I didn’t notice much colour fall from my hair and colour the shower water, which is promising because it suggested to me that the colour was mostly in my hair and not in the shower!


This one worked amazingly on my hair. It showed up, although darker than what I thought it would. The colour is exactly what it appears on the box, which is great, and it is super vibrant. It doesn’t photograph very well, but in person it looks lovely and exactly what I had envisioned. I would give this a solid 10/10. So far, after 2 washes, the colour is still going strong. I don’t expect this to fade for a while yet, as with my experience with the L’Oreal Wash Out Blue (I also wrote a blog post on that dye, which you can read here). Great job from L’Oreal on this one!

Taylor xo

Leave a Reply

