Tangle Teezer – Worth the Hype?

You’re probably thinking, “Taylor, you’re a bit late to the party, aren’t you?” with this post, and yes, you are right. I haven’t bought a new hairbrush in a very, very long time (which is probably a bad thing), but I finally decided to pick up a new one and went for the much raved about Tangle Teezer. I remember the time when everyone and their mother would rave about the Tangle Teezer, but I just never bought into the hype because I always thought I would prefer a traditional brush with a handle.

Last week I bit the bullet and decided to purchase the Original Tangle Teezer (although there were plenty of options available in Boots to choose from!). They come in a variety of colours and forms, but I chose this bright coral one because it looked the least fussy. It cost me £10.99 for this Detangling brush, but it can go up to £18 for the Blow-Styling Paddle Brush, which has a handle like a traditional hairbrush. Personally, I do think that £18 for a hairbrush is up there in price, but taking into consideration how often you do buy a hairbrush, it could be justified.

I’ve since used it both on dry and wet hair, and both worked really well. Surprisingly well in fact. I’ve been using a Denman Grooming Brush which is suited for medium to long hair for the past few years and I was never really that impressed by it, mostly because I felt I had to really put a lot of effort in to getting all the tangles out. It felt like I was barely brushing through my hair at all, so switching to this made things so much easier and effortless. One of the biggest things for me was that it didn’t feel like I was pulling at my hair, which is a big thing for me because my hair can be quite brittle when I dye it a lot! I did feel like my hair looked a lot nicer and shinier after using this, but I don’t know if that was me being extra critical because I had never used one before.

It does take some getting used to, using a brush without a handle, but it is just as effective as a brush with one. I like how it is made completely from plastic because you can use it in the shower if you like, whereas I feel that normal brushes, such as the Denman one I used before, would almost hold the water because it wasn’t plastic.

I was initially concerned that the bristles wouldn’t be stiff enough to get through the tangles, but I was pleasantly surprised. Overall, I do really like this brush, and I would recommend it. I think there’s only so much you can talk about with a hairbrush, but in the grand scheme of things, this is a great one. I can imagine this to be great for all ages and all hair types, and I think the packaging and bright colours would really appeal to children, so for all you mothers out there, I do hope this would prevent any tears and tantrums!

Taylor xo

Leave a Reply

